7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2008 5:36 PM by MarXtar

How does a client know about "Custom Data"

I would like to understand how the "Custom Data" in the inventory is setup on the client.

Here is what I see

Client is having problems, so we Reinstall the landesk Client.
      This does not fix the users problem, so I run the Landesk Client uninstaller.
      Reboot and reinstall the landesk client.

Now the client is working but is not reporting back "Custom Data" in the Inventory.
      All other inventory is collected but not "Custom Data"

So how and what is updated on the client to know what "Custome Data" to send?
      Is it a reg key or file? And If a client will not report back "Custome Data" what can you try on the client?

• 2. Re: How does a client know about "Custom Data"

Unless I missed something that was no help.

Ok think of it like this. I am a Tech/Service desk and have no Access to the Coreserver or the console.
          But we know this Client is not working and not sending "Custom Data".

All other landesk clients are sending "Custom Data" with no problems.

The Answer I am looking for is what file or Reg key must I replace or fix to get the client working like all the other clients. The Coreserver is trying to tell the client about the "Custom Data" but the client is not getting it.

So the Answer is local to the client., not using the console or server.

• 3. Re: How does a client know about "Custom Data"
            zman Master

The first document Axel listed is a very good document. It shows how custom data is modeled using the ldapp. Custom Data in the registry comes from entries in the ldapp or automagically populated from the registry keys under.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Intel\landesk\Inventory\Custom Fields

So if it is not being populated:

• Then your ldapp is not being copied to the client - something you can check. 
            • Your reg keys are screwed up.