2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2009 11:16 AM by The8thwonder

    Deleting Managed Devices

    Rookie

      If I right click on a managed device from "all devices"  then choose delete does the device dissapear from inventory for ever? Does the device get removed from the database?

       

      I would assume that the device would still have the agent on it therefore it would add itself back into inventory after the agent does its next inventory scan.

       

      Thanks in advance for any help.

       

      jeremy

        • 1. Re: Deleting Managed Devices
          mrspike SSMMVPGroup

          Patrick,

           

          You assumed correctly, once the system performs its scheduled inventory scan it will repopulate on the core.  BTW, if a vulscan takes place on the client prior to the inventory scan it may error out, but will scan correctly the next time.

           

          James

          • 2. Re: Deleting Managed Devices
            Rookie

            Thanks for the reply.  What if I delete the managed device from inventory and take the machine off of the network.  this would happen when replacing older PC's.  Does the managed device get deleted from the database when I delete it from all devices via the console.

             

            Thanks,

            jeremy