6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2015 12:37 AM by rolandas

Allowing to make just specific status changes for a particular role. 

Rookie

Hi all,

what would be the best way to allow user in particular role make just specified status changes (e.g. user in Third Party role to change status only from "Waiting for 3rd party" to "Resolved")? However, when new incident is being created by the same role, all statuses should be available.

I am very new to HEAT so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Allowing to make just specific status changes for a particular role. 
          ian.teasdale@it.ox.ac.uk Apprentice

Hi Rolandas

The way I'd approach this would be to have essentially 2 status boxes on the same form with conditional hide rules. The status box that everyone sees would be made visible to the 3rd party only when the incident is not in a status of 'waiting for 3rd party' and then I'd create a second status drop down which was only visible if the current user role was equal to 'third party' and the status was equal to 'waiting for 3rd party'. For the second box you'd need to create a new pick list which only had values of waiting for 3rd party or resolved.

An alternative approach would be to have status box that everyone sees would be made visible to the 3rd party only when the incident is not in a status of 'waiting for 3rd party' and then create a second status field which was read only and only visible if the current user role was equal to 'third party' and the status was equal to 'waiting for 3rd party'. You could then create a quick action for the 3rd party role to set the status to resolved. I'd be tempted to use the second method and have the resolve quick action prompt the 3rd party to complete all the fields necessary to resolve the incident.

Hope that helps

Ian

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Allowing to make just specific status changes for a particular role. 
            Rookie

Hi Ian,