7 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2016 7:30 AM by robert.morton

Managing iOS

philcebutv Apprentice

Hi All,

Is there any step by step instruction on how to manage iOS.

What we wanted to achieve are:

Automatic Lanrev agent ipad enrollment - around a 100 ipads

push iOS app using VPP or without requiring each student to create an AppleID.

TurnOff Apple's "Find my iPhone/iPad"

Optional

Automati wifi enrollment

Automatic email configuration

I am new to managing iOS and would love to get hands on it.

We are by the way on version 6.3 and I know the server needs to be updated to the latest.

Phil

• 1. Re: Managing iOS
          patgmac1 Expert

Enrolling in Apple's DEP is probably the best first step. Then devices are enrolled out of the box.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Managing iOS
            robert.morton Apprentice

Step 1 is to update the server. Luckily, this is an easy process to go from 6.3 to 7.2. Having said that, since you are on 6.3 I seriously doubt your MDM server is still working if it was ever configured. You Apple Push cert would have expired by now and would not have been renewable with 6.3.

Step 2 as Patrick mentioned is enroll in DEP and VPP. Start at http://deploy.apple.com for both.

What DEP does is as a device is reset or powered on for the first time, you pick a wifi, and then the device just knows and binds to your LANrev MDM server. You can supervise the device this way, push iOS apps using VPP to the device, and do everything else you wanted with the exception of wifi sort of.

So, how tO do this...

I am assuming that you have MDM configured correctly, are running the at least 7.2, and are enrolled in DEP and VPP and you have gotten those tokens from Apple and put them in the Server Center > Server Settings > MDM tab.

First, go to the Mobile Devices Window

On the left scroll down until you get to ASSIGNABLE ITEMS

Select Device Enrollment Profiles

Right click on the right to create a new one.