6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2009 5:11 PM by MarXtar

vbscript distribution issue

Rookie

I have a vbscript that I wrote that installs a printer and want to push it onto several PC's using version LD8.7 sp6.

This is the first time I've tried to push a vbs file by itself.  The script itself works fine but when I use Windows Script Host option to push this script it won't run.  I get no errors and the file does get pushed to the pc, it just doesn't seem to run.   Do I need to add something to the "command line" option to kick start this thing.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: vbscript distribution issue
          Jason SupportEmployee

It is most likely a permissions issue. When ever you push software with LDMS it use the localsystem account on the client to do the install. My 1st guess is that your script will not run as localsystem you can test that by looking at the following link.

http://community.landesk.com/support/docs/DOC-2316

• 2. Re: vbscript distribution issue
            zman Master

Posting the script and log files will help us, but I think that the printer install uses a lot of HKCU reg keys which are not accessible when the job is elevated as the local system account. You could try to run job with user credentials.

BTW, love this Jason:

http://community.landesk.com/support/profile-image-display.jspa?username=Jason

• 3. Re: vbscript distribution issue
              Rookie

Before I post my script let me just say that I'm by no means any expert in script writing.  Matter of fact I was "volunteered" to try to do this because I took a few semesters of C++ and Java programing in college 10yrs ago so I have the most experience.   Like I mention before this script does work just fine by itself and the issue is probably because LANDesk runs it has the localsystem but I'm not sure how to change rights within the script, if possible.

BTW I run this for XP only.

strComputer = "."
              devicename = "HP LaserJet 4000 Series PCL"