7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 10, 2009 4:11 AM by phoffmann

Landesk anti virus never cleans all viruses?

Apprentice

Hi!I am a new Landesk Administrator, Landesk management suite is good software but i encountered big problem with landesk anti virus! Even the anti virus definition is updated a lot of viruses manage to penetrate my network!i used other anti virus to remove and i successfully remove it!i love landesk but it is much better if it works better! Anyone can help me?pls!

• 1. Re: Landesk anti virus never cleans all viruses?
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

OK - so what you want to do first of all is to start quantifying things.

First if all, what is your idea of "lots of viruses still get through". 1? 5? 10? 100? While even 1 getting through is arguably "too much", we do have a process for all of this. Please see here:

Process for submitting suspect or infected files:
          http://community.landesk.com/support/docs/DOC-2312

How to send LANDesk an infected or suspicious file:
          http://community.landesk.com/support/docs/DOC-1520

Please also read this:

Virus Bulletin: Kido / Conficker / Downadup Virus
          - http://community.landesk.com/support/docs/DOC-5027

These will require you to open tickets with support to track this, which is another reason why you should quantify things. If an AV (our or anyone's) does not detect a virus, there's multiple possibilities behind it, which usually boil down to the following.

===

A - The AV has been configured to scan for / not scan for specific files. Configuration issues can be common.

B - The AV genuinely is not aware of the virus and does not detect it yet (see the process on how to get suspicious files to us, so we can get them scanned and if needed have the AV definitions updated). This process is pretty fast.

C - The problem is not so much with the AV itself, but rather an OS vulnerability (such as the Kido-bulletin I linked above).