1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2009 12:09 AM by Leon

Failure at Configure Target OS

So I'm trying to create my first Template using Provisioning. It's structure is fairly simple.

OS Installation   

Map Imaging Drive

Deploy Image

Post-OS Installation

Inject Sysprep

Configure Target OS

Now everything is working fine except the point when it gets to Configure Target OS.

I choose Insert unique ID and leave it as %ldDeviceID% because I've inserted my machine into the database manually with a Device ID and MAC.

Do you guys have any suggestions to this?  I'm new to Provisioning so it's difficult to figure out where to begin.

• 1. Re: Failure at Configure Target OS
          bnelson Employee

Right click on the machine name and look at the provisioning history. It should give you a bit more specific reason why it failed. Without errors it will be hard to troubleshoot.

• 2. Re: Failure at Configure Target OS

I've attached the only error that is displayed. Doesn't seem very helpful.

• 3. Re: Failure at Configure Target OS
              bnelson Employee

Never mind, I think I know what the issue is. Open your syspre file and make sure that if the Install files path is pointing to C:\sysprep\I386 that you either make that directory exist or you remove that line.

• 4. Re: Failure at Configure Target OS

Are you referring to the sysprep.inf that I installed as a script or the sysprep.inf that is on the target machine?

• 5. Re: Failure at Configure Target OS
                  bnelson Employee

The one you are injecting. If you have to change it then make sure that you reimport it and make sure you update yuor template the the newly imported script.

• 6. Re: Failure at Configure Target OS

If CTOS is failing on you (which it used to do from time to time prior to SP2), it could be for a few reasons, but here's one I have seen quite a few times.