4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2009 6:34 AM by macaddict

Soft. Dist. methodology suggestion

Apprentice

Hello,

I'm new to LANDesk.  I am trying to figure out what is the best method to manage software deployments using LANDesk.

I would like to have a Pilot group that is a small subset of end users who get the software deployments first.  If everything goes OK with them, I would like to release it to everyone else.

How I have this currently setup is I have created a group under Public Devices where all my pilot computers are.

So what I'm doing is creating a query and use this group as a filter so that the query only shows the pilot computers.

For example, If I want to push Office 2007, I create a query where that shows me all the computers that don't have Office 2007 installed (software not like office 2007).  Then I select this group as a filter and deploy it to this group.  After my pilot goes OK, then I duplicate the query and remove the filter to deploy it to the rest of computers.

This seems to be working well however...

When the next version of office comes out, (let's call it office 14) how can I push that to only the pilot group?

The potential problem that I see is that my policy for Office 2007 will still be active so once the pilot computers gets updated to Office 14, how can I prevent them from getting Office 2007 again from the policy (as the query for the Office 2007 policy is looking for PCs w/o office 2007)?

Only way that I can think of achieving this is to edit the query for the Office 2007 deployment (once it is live) so that it only installs when "software not like office 2007" AND "software not like Office 14".

Is this the best method?

• 1. Re: Soft. Dist. methodology suggestion
          zman Master

Another way would not to mess with the target query and use a prerequisite query to exclude those machines. Also, some discussions have been raised on better exclusion techniques in the new version.