11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2009 4:35 AM by ahe

Help Getting Drivers Installed

Apprentice

So I've been battling with Provisioning for a while now and because I'm new to it, things seem to take a bit longer to figure out. What I'm battling right now is the installation of the drivers. I've attached my template and my sysprep.inf file for reference. What my template is doing is Deleting all partitions, Installing a very basic image, copying the drivers over to the C:\Drivers folder on the machine, Configuring the Target OS, then Installing the Agent. What I'm trying to figure out is what calls the drivers to be installed. Isn't it the sysprep.inf file? I was under the impression that during hte mini-setup these drivers would get installed. If anyone could explain this part to me or steer me into the right direction. Also, please comment on the order of action items. Is it okay to do things in this fashion? Again, I'm young when it comes to provisioning so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

See attachments for reference.

• 1. Re: Help Getting Drivers Installed
          Employee

Many of us have been there and can show the scars...

The reason why this doesn't work is that OemPnpDriversPath is used at sysprep time, not at mini-setup time.

With very few exceptions, the info in sysprep.inf is used at mini-setup time only. For example, we all know that it doesn't matter what you had in ComputerName at sysprep time. Your provisioning template can inject a new sysprep.inf with the ComputerName that you want. The same is true for nearly everything else in sysprep.inf. One of the rare exceptions is OemPnpDriversPath. Mini-setup takes no notice of OemPnpDriversPath. Instead, it looks at the DevicePath key in the registry. At the time you syspreped your master machine, sysprep read out OemPnpDriversPath from sysprep.inf and wrote it to the DevicePath registry key. Injecting a sysprep.inf at deployment time with a new OemPnpDriversPath has no effect.