3 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2009 7:38 PM by Dthompkins

Provisioning Setup Architecture

Apprentice

Well I've been working on Provisioning now for about 2 months and I must say I've learned a great deal. This post is a question, but there won't be one right answer. I want it to be more of a discussion to help those new to Provisioning to get a better understanding of how others use it in the real world. I know there are plenty of templates out there that do offer some help but in my mind are limited. My question to everyone is:

How have you setup your Provisioning structure? (Action Items)

Do you use it for a full setup of a machine? (Meaning you format, image, install agent's, install software, install patches)

Do you use it to just Capture images?

My personal plan is to essentially have a machine fully fuctional after it's been Provisioned. I'm interested to see how others feel.

One other question (off-topic), does anyone know of a way to setup a provisioning task to add a domain user group to the Local Administrator group on a machine?

I appreciate all the info!

- Paul

• 1. Re: Provisioning Setup Architecture
          Apprentice

Hi Paul --

I too believe that the purpose of provisioning is to have a single, end to end process that allows the configuration of machines (both servers and workstations) with a good level of quality control.  A lot of the work that I have done for our customer base is around a solution set that BizCarta has dubbed "OneTouch".  A user can pull a machine out of the packaging, brand new, and PXE boot it letting LANDesk provisioning do the rest.  This has included the following:

• Booting to Windows PE
          • Detecting the location of the system
          • Mapping to the nearest distribution server to obtain images and scripts
          • Deploying the image
          • Pushing the drivers
          • Rebooting to sysprep
          • Installing the LANDesk Agent