6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 4, 2017 2:13 AM by JulianWigman

Can you background search on Incident Descriptions in Console like you can in WebDesk?

Pitmac1 Apprentice

Hey y'all,

I'm new to knowledge management most of our Analyst still use Console . I'm hoping to get everyone off of it, but I was wondering. Is there an way to background search on Incident descriptions in Console like you can in WebDesk?

I'm trying to set up Knowledge for the first time ever, so if any of y'all have any insight any possible issues, ect.  I would love to hear it.

Other Questions:

If I can pull knowledge from BOD in Knowledge Management Search, why can't I pull my articles as well?

WebDesk Search -  How do you enable search of articles and BODs?

• 1. Re: Can you background search on Incident Descriptions in Console like you can in WebDesk?
          JulianWigman Expert

General rule is if it works in WebDesk then it should also just work in console too UNLESS you have different windows for the UI's.  Invoking a background search is by a property of the fields on the window but "Lose Focus" is common to both Console and WebDesk whilst some of the other properties for invoking background searches are Console Only.  As I say though fortunately you have working in WebDesk so from a design perspective it should just work.

If it doesn't then check in ConfigurationCenter to check that the "Free Text search Index Path" property for the "framework" (as console talked to the framework apps) as it should match that on the WebAccess App. Maybe iit has only been setup for WebDesk OR the path is incorrect.

Not you may have more than one Framework App; for example if you have explicit and integrated logon setup in your solution.

Julian

@MarXtar

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Can you background search on Incident Descriptions in Console like you can in WebDesk?
            Pitmac1 Apprentice

Thanks JulianWigman