2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2017 3:23 AM by TobyJR

Distribution Package End User Notifications - Distribution and Patch Build

Rookie

Good Evening all,

I wonder if anyone could help with a quick inquiry ... hopefully.

I shall apologies, I'm not only new to this site and discussion, I am also a rather new LANDesk Administrator in my organisation having only shadowed previous Administrators before their departure. But was deemed okay for the role / to help out **cringe .. I know**.

IEM 2017 V 10.1.10.287

Problem:

I have been attempting to compile a Software Bundle for the Deployment of Office 2016 in our Organisation, whilst removing any previous installations of Office and including the recommended reboot in between and then afterwards. 

I have it working is the good news, using two batch files.

By: Running a Batch file (run Offscrub and run uninstall string), reboot (using the new Package Bundle Inter Package action), batch file to silent mount iso, install, run config file and then another reboot (again using Inter Package action).

I realize people will all have different opinions, but this is what was done in crude terms before so I have simply copied and updated.

However, now the problem.

I have built a Agent Setting with Distribution and Patch set up for informing the user and allowing a deferral, but despite toggling the  Progress Options , I'm unable to get any sort of Notification that the task is still running after the first Reboot and Whilst it's Installing 2016, even the System Try icon appears to disappear and as a result the next instant the user knows it's running is when the Reboot appears.

Is there anyway I can achieve this? or anything similar?

Thanks 

• 1. Re: Distribution Package End User Notifications - Distribution and Patch Build
          jaysmith SupportEmployee