5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2017 10:38 PM by game123

New to appsense - many questions.

yashikor Apprentice

I am very new to appsense so I have a few questions:

1) What is a process rule? I understand signature and file rules.

2) We need to unblock an ERP app, I assume that I need to create a process rule for this. I know the main executable file name, however there are hundreds or DLL files associated. Also there may be different folders, i.e., \\coname\aspire\mfgys\XXXX\ or \\coname.xyz.com\aspire\mfgsys\XXXX. Also there many be different vendors, i.e., Company Name, Inc. or Company Name Manufacturing, Inc.

Your assistance is appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: New to appsense - many questions.
          Landon Winburn ITSMMVPGroup

Process rules. I like to call them sub-process rules. Basically when you create one you specify a process. You can then allow or deny other processes that the parent process may call using file rules. Keep in mind the parent process the rule is based on first needs to be allowed. For a simple base configuration they are rarely used.

Stick with group rules and allowed files. Make sure the file rules contain metadata from the metadata tab. In your case for the file rule select allow untrusted owner and child processes and this should allow everything the parent process calls without the need for a process rule.

Last thing, look up amaudit here on the forum. It makes adding rules easy.

Landon.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: New to appsense - many questions.
            yashikor Apprentice

Is group rule the same as a process rule? I have 3 choices for rules: File, Folder, and Signature.

Also what would you suggest for an application that is web based? Actually the applications launches through I.E., however there are a slew of DLL files that are required from the server and I am sure there is a database someplace.

I do use AmAudit and start from there.