4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2016 3:19 PM by mrcross

GM and Display Names for SMTP email addresses

mrcross Rookie

GM 8.5.2.8

A problem has arisen with outgoing SMTP addresses.

If GM recognizes the email address as belonging to contact John Doe it puts it in the To line of the header in the form 'John Doe' <john.doe@gmail.com> which is fine.

If it cannot match the address to a contact it uses the form john.doe@gmail.com <john.doe@gmail.com> i.e. it uses the email address as the display name and then inserts a space and the email address in angle brackets.  Note that in this case the Display Name does NOT have quotes round it.

This is not compliant with standards which require the display name to be enclosed by double quotes because it contains a special character (the @ symbol). However it dos not cause a problem in sending the mail via my SMPT host

I've been using GM for many years without any problem on this score but now I have one particular contact getting failures if he tries "reply all" in his own e-mail client (I'm waiting an answer on what client he uses).

What happens with the address example above is that his client mangles the address so it becomes

john.doe@ <gmail.com john.doe@gmail.com

(note the spaces after the first @ symbol and between gmail.com and john. Of course this fails to send because of these spaces and if it were sent would in any case still be wrong.

Anyone else come across this issue, and if so is there a resolution?

Mike

• 1. Re: GM and Display Names for SMTP email addresses
          mrcross Rookie

Ignore the mail envelope symbols that have been auto-inserted in my question above, nothing to do with me, they weren't in what I posted.

Mike

• 2. Re: GM and Display Names for SMTP email addresses
            John Neighbors Expert

Michael,

Not sure if this feedback will help or not?!?!?