7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2018 9:39 AM by GoldmineExpert

Anyone have a direct link to the Goldmine dde fix on msWord?

tina Rookie

I'm new to inserting links into a Word doc. (I haven't set up GM since late 1990's and not used it since 2001) Some things familiar, but still pecking my way though. I was told I need to download a fix. the link provided took me to general area but not the correct link Anyone Help?

• 1. Re: Anyone have a direct link to the Goldmine dde fix on msWord?
          John Neighbors SSMMVPGroup

Tina,

Using this documentation as a reference: Merging a Word template against contacts will n... | Ivanti User Community

...we recently helped a client resolve GM/Word merging issues caused by Windows Updates.  Each fix took one simple registry change, per PC.  We simply followed what was documented in this above documentation that said:

Microsoft notes that

'...Microsoft has released an update for Microsoft Office that provides enhanced security as a defense-in-depth measure. The update disables the Dynamic Update Exchange protocol (DDE) in all supported editions of Microsoft Word.

Microsoft is continuing to investigate this issue and will update this advisory as further updates become available. If you are unable to install the update, or if you need to disable the DDE protocol in other Office applications such as Excel, see Microsoft Security Advisory 4053440. Note that the mitigations listed in the advisory will not disable DDE, but will disable auto-update for any linked fields, including DDE.

If you need to change DDE functionality in Word after installing the update, follow these steps:

In the Registry Editor navigate to \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\version\Word\Security >> AllowDDE(DWORD)

Set the DWORD value based on your requirements as follows:

AllowDDE(DWORD) = 0: To disable DDE. This is the default setting after you install the update.