3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2018 8:30 AM by phoffmann

Updating software based on inventory scan results?

marypha Rookie

Hi there-  I'm a pretty new admin, so still learning what it can and can't do... basically, I've been asked to accomplish the following:

1. Immediately scan any workstation when it boots up.
      2. Determine whether or not it has the specific version of software (Citrix Receiver) that we currently support.
      3. If necessary, either downgrade or update the endpoint based on whatever was scanned into the inventory.

I'm not really seeing, nor finding an article for, an obvious way to accomplish this and I'm wondering if it's something EPM (Landesk) can even do.  We also have workspace management (appsense).. again with a fresh new admin who is still learning, and part of me wonders if that is a better way of accomplishing this task?

TIA!

• 1. Re: Updating software based on inventory scan results?
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

Heyas - welcome to the "greater" Ivanti family & the community.

No problem at all with your request. Just as a simple request/guideline for the future -- please always state what major/minor version you're on (i.e. "I'm on EPM 2017.3 + SU1" or so), as depending on what your question / issue is, there MAY be differences or fine points or known issues or somesuch.

For the AppSense side of things -- I'd suggest that you re-post your question(s) for AppSense stuff in the AppSense section of the community as well (it's a completely separate community, they won't be looking here ... we make it appear to be all "under one roof" but it's still actually separate systems as we try to figure out how to move them together).

Meanwhile, I can have a stab at helping you with the EPM based question(s).

Now - on to your questions.

====================