3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2018 3:48 AM by phoffmann

Preferred Server without IP Address Ranges

Apprentice

I am new to Landesk so this might be a stupid question... I added a new preferred server for a remote location as the current one will be decommissioned soon. I did not provide IP address ranges as I just kind of wanted to have it ready and I wanted to add the IP ranges once the old server is decommissioned. So after that, suddenly all clients from all locations had this new server in the preferredservers.dat which led to an issue during OS Provisioning. I removed the new preferred server and the issue was gone. So the question is: When I configure a preferred server without IP ranges, will it be identified by ALL the endpoints, also from other locations, as a preferred server?

• 1. Re: Preferred Server without IP Address Ranges
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

Effectively - yes.

If there's no limitation on the IP-ranges, it's "a general preferred server".

Folks have file-servers (usually in smaller companies), so they use those as preferred servers. Think of the IP restrictions as a means of filtering "Only YOU guys talk to this one...".

If that's not there, it's an "all hands - have at it!" type situation. So "working as configured" (rather than intended).

Don't worry - that's pretty much EXACTLY a replay of how I learned my lesson on that topic too .

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Preferred Server without IP Address Ranges
            Apprentice

Good, at least I know what happened now So if I want to create the new preferred server just to start the content replication, I would need to provide any IP range (even invalid one, like 1.1.1.0 - 1.1.1.1) in order to stop clients from contacting this server, right? And once the replication is done, I could remove the old server and provide the new one with valid IP ranges?

• 3. Re: Preferred Server without IP Address Ranges
              phoffmann SupportEmployee