9 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2018 2:06 PM by randyb1

Resetting file associations in Environment Manager 10.1

jpatr Rookie

Hello - I am new to administering Environment Manager 10.1. We have some users who are experiencing problems with file associations within certain applications, and we would like to reset this component of their profile, without resetting everything.  I'm able to navigate to the user's Personalization Analysis, and it's pretty clear how to reset/delete various components of their user profile. But I'm unclear where the 'file associations' would reside under the different Windows components - would it be 'Explorer Settings'?  I'd prefer not to use trial and error to figure it out, so any feedback would be appreciated. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Resetting file associations in Environment Manager 10.1
          randyb1 SupportEmployee

Clarifying questions, as this topic can be a can of worms...

1. Which Feature Release of 10.1 are you using?
          2. Is this for Windows 7 or Windows 10?
          3. Are you setting file type associations (FTAs) via policy, or allowing users to personalize them?
          • 2. Re: Resetting file associations in Environment Manager 10.1
            jpatr Rookie

Randy - thanks for the quick reply:

1. Which Feature Release of 10.1 are you using?
              1. FR2, Build 10.1.566.0
            2. Is this for Windows 7 or Windows 10?
              1. Windows 10
            3. Are you setting file type associations (FTAs) via policy, or allowing users to personalize them?
              1. I haven't been able to locate any policies setting file associations, so it appears we allow users to personalize them. Again, I'm new to this, but the screenshot below was the only thing I could find related to Default App Associations.

• 3. Re: Resetting file associations in Environment Manager 10.1
              randyb1 SupportEmployee