4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2009 8:13 AM by Jason

Schedule Task Display window not appearing on Core

tfitzpatrick Apprentice

I am new to administering LANDesk, but in the past when a scheduled task was run a window would appear on the core server showing the status of the job.  I rebooted the server last night and now the window does not appear.  Is there a service that needs to be started or an option within the console on the core server that may have been selected?

• 1. Re: Schedule Task Display window not appearing on Core
          Jason SupportEmployee

/Tim,

I am assuming you are talking about the custjob window appearing. This window will only appear if you are logged in as session 0 on the core server. If you are using RDP to access the core server you need to launch the MSTSC.exe with the /console or /admin switch depending on what OS you are on.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947723/

Note:

Only custjob tasks will show the popup window. Other scheduled task do not use custjob and will there for not pop a window on the core, I.e Software dist task with delivery methods.

• 2. Re: Schedule Task Display window not appearing on Core
            tfitzpatrick Apprentice

Jason,

I've been using mstsc /console but I tried mstsc /admin and the custjob window is now popping up when i run a custom job. Do you know why /console would stop doing that?  If not /admin is working.

Thanks,

Tim

• 3. Re: Schedule Task Display window not appearing on Core
              SupportEmployee

Note:

Only custjob tasks will show the popup window. Other scheduled task do not use custjob and will there for not pop a window on the core, I.e Software dist task with delivery methods.