5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2009 10:36 AM by Dingo_Tush

Never worked with Landesk before, now I am in charge of it....HELP

Rookie

Hi,

I have never worked with Landesk before, but now I am in charge of our IT department and they want me to use it.  The admin that I am replacing never got Landesk to work right, and now he is gone so it is on my plate now.

I basically don't know how to do anything in Landesk.  I don't know how to patch clients, I don't know how to update the core server, I basicallly know Jack that's about it.  (Not Jack Coates unfortunately).

So can I some really basic user questions to help me get going here....

First off is how do I update the core server?  All of our clients are reporting a scan engine of 3-31-09.  Almost 3 months old, how can I update those definations?

So if I want to create a brand new agent, I think I can do that, but how do I push it out to the clients?  I tried the advance agent, but it runs, and then doesn't do anything.  Will it download what it needs at a later time?  Is that how it works?

How do I create the self-install package for this new agent?

Then how do I get Landesk to update my clients.  All of my machines come up in the devices window, but they are all missing most patches.  How can I get them to install over the network?

How does rebooting factor in?  If I have like 30 patches to install, is it going to reboot a few times before finishing or will it reboot only when necessary, or is there a setting that I can change?

Sorry for the n00b questions, but I need to figure this stuff out.  I have been working with it for awhile now, but I am still at a lose, so any help would be much appreciated.  Please and thank you.

• 1. Re: Never worked with Landesk before, now I am in charge of it....HELP
          Employee

Hi Dingo,