3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2018 11:47 PM by Juergen Voelkening

SSRS formatting ServiceReqParam date values

vee Apprentice

Hi all, I only started learning reporting last Friday so hopefully this is something easy to answer!

My scenario is this: I have a report that outputs all the ParameterName & ParameterValue information from ServiceReqParam where the ParentLink_RecID is the RecId of the Service Request the report was generated from. In other words, print out all the fields from a particular service request form.

The output looks something like this:

Of course some forms have date/time fields so as they come out in the report I want to be able to format them. Ideally I can do timezone offset, but even just formatting them as dd/mm/yyyy would be great. Because I don't know what a ParameterValue value will be, I tried the following expression:

=IIF(IsDate(Fields!ParameterValue.Value),(FormatDateTime(Fields!ParameterValue.Value,1)),Fields!ParameterValue.Value)

This works great, but only for any date/time values, it gives an error for anything else:

When I try something simple such as:

=IIF(IsDate(Fields!ParameterValue.Value),"This is a date",Fields!ParameterValue.Value) it's happy:

But the moment I try to do any formatting on the date fields in the "true" section of the IIF, I get errors.

Any suggestions? Thanks heaps!

• 1. Re: SSRS formatting ServiceReqParam date values
          Juergen Voelkening Apprentice

Hi Vee,

we are using the DisplayType to convert the datetime fields.

example:

case when ServiceReqParam.DisplayType ='datetime'

then substring(ServiceReqParam.ParameterValue,9,2) +'.'+substring(ServiceReqParam.ParameterValue,6,2)+'.'+substring(ServiceReqParam.ParameterValue,1,4)

else ServiceReqParam.ParameterValue

end

• 2. Re: SSRS formatting ServiceReqParam date values
            vee Apprentice

Hi Juergen,