4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2018 4:19 AM by phoffmann

How do I bypass Maintenance Windows, when pushing Distribution Packages

skidmod Rookie

Hi, I am a new admin, and my first job was tackle patching. I have been working with Ivanti for a few months and I am starting to use distribution packages.

I have 2 packages one is an .exe that installs our Anti-Virus Software, and the other is a batch file that does the same thing with a few different variables.

When attempting to push this to a few machines I am getting the error message Failed "an Attempt was made to install a package outside of the maintenance window"

I know that pushing repairs can bypass this window, is there a better way I can set this up to push out packages during hours?

People were complaining so my maintenance windows and Scans all are set to run from 1AM-6AM.

• 1. Re: How do I bypass Maintenance Windows, when pushing Distribution Packages
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

What version of EPM do you use, for one?

Reason I ask is that as of EPM 2018, Maintenance windows *ALSO* apply to software distribution.

So if you've got SWD tasks outside of your 01:00 - 06:00 window, that can get you into a spot of bother.

USUALLY I reserve Maintenance windows for servers & critical infrastructure (the sort of thing where you can't "just have an oops" so to speak), as they're an additional safeguard. If I understand right - you use them on (regular) endpoints? If so, can you enlighten a little more as to your thinking here?

(I'm not saying it's a wrong / right call - I'm just suspecting that there's good reasons why you *DO* use these widely, and so want to get better understanding for context ).

• 2. Re: How do I bypass Maintenance Windows, when pushing Distribution Packages
            skidmod Rookie

I am on the latest version of EPM 11.0.0.164 (the one with network mapping)