6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2019 8:39 AM by John Neighbors

Automated processes for multiple data sets

LHurse Apprentice

I've been working with Automated Processes for many years and never came upon this question or thought about it until now.

I have a customer with 4 individual contact sets.  They all use a 5th contact set as the one to share the GoldMine tables.

We have an extensive Automated Process that is supposed to run on each data set minimally daily, preferred 2 or 3 times per day.

I have the Server Agent setup to run on one server.  This is the server where the customer has given me access to use for the creation of auto processes, MM reports, modifying the Lookup.ini, etc.  If I have to change data sets, I will hit the Start Server Agent button to run it for that dataset.  However, I'm not in their server daily and most of the time cannot spare the time to log into each dataset and run the agent.

I know this is an improbability, but it doesn't hurt to ask:  is there a way that the AP can run, in the background, for the other data sets?

I appreciate the input.

• 1. Re: Automated processes for multiple data sets
          John Neighbors SSMMVPGroup

We've not had any luck getting GoldMine's AP scanning to work "in the background".  We've only been able to have such happen successfully within an ACTIVE Windows session (and even one w/o the screen saver active, as we've seen the Windows screen saver cause GM AP scanning grief in some cases..although not all).

My thoughts on a possible solution to your need:

* For this to work, the computer upon which this AP scanning will take place needs to "stay logged in" to Windows and NOT invoke a screen saver (for extra assurance of success, at least).

a) Setup DISTINCT GM IDs for doing the scanning within EACH contact set (e.g. ZZSCAN1, ZZSCAN2, etc.).  Configure each of these GM IDs, such that when logging into GM, they automatically go into THEIR respective contact set.