7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2009 11:03 PM by danpixley

LANDesk vs. SCCM

Rookie

My company is looking into switching from LANDesk to Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager. I have 5+ years experience with LANDesk and absolutely none with SCCM. I will be getting some training here shortly on SCCM but what i am looking for are the differences between the two. What does LANDesk have that SCCM does not... Does LD do something exceedingly better then SCCM? On the other hand is there something that SCCM does well that LD does not in comparison?

Any help would be great...

Thanks in advance

RS

• 1. Re: LANDesk vs. SCCM
          zman Master

Contact your LANDesk rep, there are numerous documents they have that will help you out. If you need additional help send me an email. The main reason I hear is that SCCM is included in my EA and my boss tells me it SCCM is free. This is not true. There are a lot of things that LANDesk does better than SCCM, too many to cover here, and this may help. This sounds more like a political decision than a technical one. LANDesk can help with the technical reasons but your are one your own with the political ones.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: LANDesk vs. SCCM
            Rookie

Thanks, I'll check.

That's precisely the reason I was given. SCCM is included in our EA and it is free...  Not true?!

R

• 3. Re: LANDesk vs. SCCM
              zman Master

So my understanding is that SCCM is in the EA and if you push Microsoft hard enough - I mean really hard, it can be removed and your EA price will be reduced. Granted you have to have a large shop or very good negotiators to do this.

The other costs are softer costs - lost productivity (your learning curve and you employees), conversion costs, usually more hardware, loss of efficiencies (things LANDesk can do that SCCM can't or not as well - e.g., Third party patch management - LDMGA), OS support (MACs, Linux, etc...)

• 4. Re: LANDesk vs. SCCM