2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2009 2:13 AM by samfalcone

Policy supported Push task - status off for non reacheable computer instead of waiting

Rookie

Hello guys,

I'm a newbie in LDMS.

I'm using LDMS 8.8 SP3 on core server with client in Win XP Pro also LDClient 8.8 SP3

This is what I'm trying to do, and what I did.

- We have custom tools that are required on each computer of our company.

- To do this I created an custom MSI and created a package in LDMS.

- Then I have created an deploy method "Policy supported push" with no interaction with the users, all must be done silently, setting download from source.

- After what I have created a scheduled task associating the package and this new policy.

When I run the task the computers that are in use, receive the package by the push feature of the method.

But the computers that are shutdown, can't. Then I thought that these will be in waiting status.

Instead of that, I have a OFF status, and the package will never reach the client target.

Then I changed my task to try with push only method, and after with policy only method.

These are working correctly, but the combination of the 2 feature not.

What am I doing wrong, or what can I do ?

Thanks for your help.

• 1. Re: Policy supported Push task - status off for non reacheable computer instead of waiting
          mrspike SSMMVPGroup

A PSP must successfully run or fail on each system as a Task (Push) before it becomes a policy.

We have noticed that some systems stick in the "Active" section, many had been turned off, etc, or for some reason do not update their status.  I thought LD was supposed to have a time out feature, but we are seeing systems stick.

If they stick, the task will never become a policy.

Also, if you have the job set to re-run, it will re-run as a task / push, and if systems stick in active, again not becoming a policy.

I will be working with our TAM on this when I get back on-site next week.