4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2009 10:43 AM by JSMCPN

ldiscn32.exe crashing - related to missing "LD-88-VCUpdate-08-09"?

Rookie

Hi,

First off, i am new here, so apologies if i'm posting this in incorrect category.

Secondly, we've recently had a third party consultancy company in to upgrade LDMS to 8.8 sp3, from 8.6. things have been working fine. I'm by no means an expert with LANDesk, hence the following problem i'm getting. :-)

We recently started seeing some clients get error messages relating to the inventory scanners running on their PCs.  "faulting application, ldiscn32.exe, version 8.80.2.50, faulting module ldiscn32.exe, versions 8.80.2.50 fault address 0x0006e0c6" At first this seemed totally random, but after a bit of digging it seems to only affect users of development workstations; with visual studio, or components thereof installed.

Like a lot of people we have just installed MS09-034, and MS09-035 to our servers (including LANDesk core server), and client machines.

With this in mind it seemed fair for me to assume that the crashes are related to "LD-88-VCUpdate-08-09" missing from the core server, and client devices. In fact, core and clients were also missing "LD-88-Rollup-07-09" also. So after installing the core updates, and positively testing the client patches on a device i set about creating repair jobs for these updates and pushing them out to remaining clients. All well and good.

Except, i'm seeing that these updates aren't resolving the crashing inventory scanner on most other devices.

• could the two updates installing in the wrong order cause this?
      • could something else be causing this?
        • 1. Re: ldiscn32.exe crashing - related to missing "LD-88-VCUpdate-08-09"?
          Rookie

edit 1: as an update, devices that i thought no longer had the issue, apparently still do. :-/

edit 2: i have tried re-deploying an updated agent to a device, this still does not resolve the issue