9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2010 3:27 PM by Mach6

Simple batch file creation

Apprentice

Hello,

I'm new to creating batch files. I'm trying to make a simple registry change. I want to create a batch file to summon the .reg file and have it run silently. How would I type the command to summon the .reg file? I tried the following script but didn't appear to work.

This is what I have in the .bat file:

regedit.exe /s http://coreservername/landesk/files/nicconet.reg

but when it runs the batch I get this message:

'\\coreservername\ldmain\landesk\files'
      CMD.EXE was started with the above path as the current directory.
      UNC paths are not supported.  Defaulting to Windows directory.

C:\Windows>regedit.exe /s http://coreservername/landesk/files/nicconet.reg

What am I missing in the script?

I have both the .bat file and .reg file in the same location

http://coreservername/landesk/files/nicconet.reg

• 1. Re: Simple batch file creation
          Employee

Are you running from source?  Windows doesn't like to allow you to explicitly assume the same path if you are running from a network share.  Try download from source and let me know if it works.  Alternately you could specify the full path to the .reg file as a full UNC path.

If it was me I'd take a little different approach: Use the reg add command.  Unless you've got a LOT of values to import from .reg file it will most likely be easier using the reg add command, and then you don't need the .reg rile at all!  Try doing reg add /? from a command line, it's easy to use.

Lemme know if either option helps.

Thanks!

• 2. Re: Simple batch file creation
            Apprentice

All I'm basically doing is changing the homepage on IE in

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main]
            "Start Page"="http://www.nicconet.com"

So how do I go about doing so using your method?

• 3. Re: Simple batch file creation
              Employee